Bearings for our <span class="highlight">Trak</span> <span class="highlight">Shak</span> C/T

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:24
ThreadID: 60296 Views:4340 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Does any one know in Adelaide where i can get a set of bearings for the Trak Shak and roughly how much would i expect to pay.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:37
GREENDOG

Most trailers run Holden or Ford wheel bearings even if they have Toyota or Nissan wheels and hubs. Take a bearing out and read its number and then go to CBC.

Wheelbearing kits are around the $16.00 mark

AnswerID: 317953

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:42
Thanks Willem,my BIL will be doing them in Kadina in the next month or so hopefully we will be able to get them up there if not i might have to call around Roachie place in the middle of the night.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 584333

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:50
Hahahahaha...watch out you don't trip ovber a chassis rail in the dark.

Should get those bearings at most parts resellers.

FollowupID: 584339

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:55

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:55
LOL, I have heard he has put a new fence up sponcored by Nissan
FollowupID: 584343

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:39

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:39
Supercheap sell both a cheap Chinese brand and also Timken. Timken are as Willem says about $16 each and the Chinese ones are $10... The choice is obvious Michael.

FollowupID: 584368

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:02

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:02
You can get all your bearings from CBC on North East Road Holden Hill (only speak to Brian - he's an absolute legend in the business). Just need the bearing numbers which should be 5 numerals, although some tapered roller bearings have weirdarse designations.
AnswerID: 317964

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:06

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:06
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 584348

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:42

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:42
I reckon that Trak Shak are on south Road just south of Regency Road. Would be a good place to start.
M.
AnswerID: 317980

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:22

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:22
Trak Shak packed up and moved to sunny Sydney about 12 weeks ago.
FollowupID: 584387

Follow Up By: Richo (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:51

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:51
Challenge Campers are now in the same old building and are the SA Trak Shak agents,
FollowupID: 584399

Follow Up By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:57

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:57
Sunny Sydney! Don't know about that but I know that it's a darn side warmer here in Darwin than the reports I am getting from back home in SA.
M.
FollowupID: 584402

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:13
Challenge Campers are at Edwardstown and part owned by the guy who ownes Trak Shak.

Sergents vehicle hire are in the old Trak shak building.
FollowupID: 584493

Reply By: Hopper51 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:53

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:53
You don't mention how old the trailer is. The newer chinese built units seem to have some weird bearing combinations so you may have to pull them out, get the numbers and go to CBC bearings or the like.
The older units, when built by Peter Kaesler, had suspension bits supplied by SA Trailer & Chassis on Port Wakefield Road Cavan.
Chris W
AnswerID: 318064

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:00

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:00
any bearing place cbc, bsc (and others) will be able to help...but you will need samples or bearing numbers as said above...these are imprinted on outer/inner race
AnswerID: 318066

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:17

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:17
Try CBC or another bearing place and don't forget the numbers on the bearing.

Just thought I would tell you for the fourth time....CBC or a bearing place and don't forget the numbers..LOL

Opps! thats five times now!

AnswerID: 318097

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:56
I hear you Richard LOL.thanks mate
FollowupID: 584789

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:11

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:11
And while you're buying a new set, get an extra set. Keep these, along with some bearing grease in a sealed bag in the camper. Our TS came with a spare set. You hope they never go but I had to do my boat trailer ones on the side of the road a couple of months back and it was just lucky that a tiny servo had one set of the right ones on the shelf. Now have a spare set for the boat as well.

Adrian
AnswerID: 318104

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:33
I have got a set already packed with grease and vacuum sealed in the toolbox, with a spare axle seal as well
Saves any mucking around packing bearings on the way somewhere if you are unlucky enough to need to replace them on the trip.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 584615

Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:59

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:59
Thanks guys for all replys,i didn't think i would get so many,oh yeah the Shak is 10yrs old.cheer's
GREENDOG
AnswerID: 318338